Return to The Fallacy Detective
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The truth about The Fallacy Detective October 10, 2013
Reviewer: Joy L.  
This is the curriculum used for the first semester of my middle schooler's Reasoning class at our homeschool co-op. With examples that students can relate to, our son enjoys learning the logic concepts and putting them into practice, especially putting forth arguments to win his parents over to his side-lol! The content is informative, yet entertaining, written in a conversational style perfect for a middle schooler's introductory course to logic.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Love seeing kids apply to real life! July 27, 2013
Reviewer: Richly Blessed  
I have three kids in grades 7-11 who used this book together. They figured out the lessons by discussing possible solutions often competing with one another. I really enjoyed seeing them apply what they learned to real life situations and find faulty reasoning particularly in commercials.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
I'm a Fan May 31, 2012
Reviewer: alotofgewgaws  
Logic and Reasoning! Must I say more. This book is essential for the ENTIRE family. Challenging at times, yes. My age recommendation would be 13 years and older.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good book for teaching logic May 31, 2012
Reviewer: Amy G  
This is a very useful book. The lessons are short and engaging, and they cover topics that can seem a little too pointed and "preachy" when they come from me. Instead of my children thinking that I'm telling them a product is bad because I don't want to spend the money, they can identify the fallacies in advertising on their own. It's not enough for a full credit in a logic course, but it is a very good book. You can either supplement it with some other materials, or just hand it over for free reading and not use it for transcript-appropriate, "official" homeschooling.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Your kids will be smarter than you are. October 10, 2011
Reviewer: Virginia Morgan from Greenville, IL United States  
Excellent job, Bluedorn brothers! You have taught my teenagers to recognize fallacies everywhere they go. Nothing is sacred...not billboards, not magazines, and certainly not anything on TV. I am so thankful that The Fallacy Detective book is here to keep my kids from being brainwashed.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Even mom has learned a lot! September 26, 2011
Reviewer: April B.  
Our family has thoroughly enjoyed The Fallacy Detective.  I purchased it mainly for my older two children, but my seven and nine year old have enjoyed it as well.  It is a great read-aloud for the whole family.  Even mom has learned a lot!  A very user-friendly introduction to the subject.  Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Fallacy Detective October 2, 2009
Reviewer: Cynthia Herrmann from Concord, CA United States  
We were very disappointed with this book.  We assumed since it was sold everywhere it must be good.  However that faulty logic as we learned in Lesson10!  Many peple can be wrong or perhaps there are just not a logic programs available?

The content of the book is fine but the exercises are terrible.  They often are so vague they could be several answers.
Others need to rewritten to be more clear.
I thought my son was just doing his usual complaining about this book until I did a week of lessons out loud with him.  We both agreed at Lesson 16 to stop this book and look for something else.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Adds a zing of fun to our school day!! November 5, 2008
Reviewer: Hjordes N. from Loomis, CA  
Each year we find one favorite supplement to our core curriculum that adds a zing of fun to our school day.  This year we discovered The Fallacy Detective.  The thirty-six short (short!) lessons in recognizing bad reasoning require no preparation, cover all the basics of logical thought without being "teachy," and keep us laughing.  Now, when I find a commercial or news article that contains a fallacy, I don't have to explain it to my daughter while she stares at me with glassy eyes.  I hand it to her and see if she can find the logic error. Fallacies have become this year's game.    The lessons in this book will serve my children well in their lifetime interpersonal relationships as well as in becoming logical thinkers in a world of tricks and sound-bytes.  It's also the perfect introductory book to future unit studies on advertising, the media, relational aggression, psychology, and current events.   My favorite thing about the book?  Hearing, "Just one more chapter, please?"!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
We had fun studying logic... November 4, 2008
Reviewer: Gerald W. from New Market, VA  
We used this book as a worship time read with a 13-year-old Korean girl who was below grade level in learning English.  She enjoyed the lessons and happily noted the words she didn't understand so she could study them.  We had fun studying logic from a Christian point of view.

Was this review helpful to you?