Return to Creativity For Kids My First Scissors
Sort By::
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
These are awful October 18, 2016
Reviewer: Malorie Scott from San Angelo, TX United States  
I got these with our preschool curriculum kit. They are terrible. They are too big to make any line other than a straight line. They do not help with learning how to hold and operate real scissors. They also don't cut very well and I'm constantly worried little fingers are going to get cut instead of the paper.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great first pair of scissors! July 27, 2016
Reviewer: E.E. from Cordova, TN  
The “My First Scissors” were great and my 4-yr-old daughter loved using them, asking for them often. I stored them up high, out of reach, and let her use them under supervision only, as they are functional and sharp. She loved cutting paper with them and felt so grown up and accomplished when she did! They are easy to use and with a little guidance, pretty safe as well.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Perfect for small hands! August 27, 2015
Reviewer: Courtney  
There is only one reason why I am not giving these a 5 star review... one of the metal cutting pieces broke off about 6 months after purchasing. Even so, we really enjoyed them while we had them and they were always the pair of scissors that my 2 and 5 year old picked when working on projects involving cutting. I plan on buying another pair as I believe that they were worth the money paid for the time that we got out of them.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great scissors for little ones! December 31, 2014
Reviewer: CA  
My left-handed 2 year old loves to play with her big sister's scissors, but she refused to hold them correctly. These scissors quickly fixed her incorrect hold. We also purchased a Kumon cutting book (also sold on Timberdoodle) and she has loved them! I do not consider these scissors dangerous for her to use, but she did manage to cut a few locks of hair with them. :/

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
perfect September 7, 2014
Reviewer: eileenc  
my 3 year old and 5 year olds love these scissors. easy to use and cut with ease, not choppy like other first scissors.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Liked them but they broke June 22, 2014
Reviewer: Sarah W.  
My three year old and I liked these scissors even though he still struggled with how to hold and use them no matter how many times I showed him. I ended up using them for cutting paper because I didn't have other scissors and they broke. (this was after about 6 months of very like use). I think we will be moving on to normal safety scissors and see if they work for him. I am glad I got these to introduce him to scissors though.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great scissors December 28, 2013
Reviewer: Sunflower S.  
My 4 year old loves to cut paper so we use these scissors on Big Skills for Little Hands Alphabet as well as kumon cutting. He likes these scissors and has learned to handle them well.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Your package October 29, 2013
Reviewer: Juliana f.  
I am not homeschooling my kids but wanted some structure to their afternoon. Our toddlers love the stuff you sent us. We love having a guideline for activities. Win-win.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great first scissors September 4, 2013
Reviewer: Jen  
I ordered these scissors for my almost two old son. They are easy for him to hold and manipulate. They cut paper well but are not so sharp that I'm worried about him cutting himself. Even so, given his age, I still supervise him the whole time he's using them. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Scissors for My -Handed Child August 5, 2013
Reviewer: Brianna  
I bought My First Scissors because I have a feeling that my 2-year-old son is left-handed. I never had a need to buy such beginner scissors with my three older children as they were all unquestionably right-handed and strong enough to manage 'normal' scissors. This son, however, usually (but not always) holds a spoon and crayon with his left hand. With scissors, though, he's been switching back and forth frequently, trying to find a workable position. I wanted to give him a pair of scissors that he can use for either hand. From what I've read, truly left-handed scissors have the top blade on the left-hand side so that with the natural tilt of the hand, the paper does not simply get pinched and torn between the blades, and the top blade does not hide the spot that is being cut. While these scissors do not have the top blade on the left, they eliminate the confusion of where to put fingers, and they do not require strength to pull the blades apart. I'm hoping this will help my son enough to let him choose the most comfortable hand for cutting. Since he's not yet trying to cut on lines I'm not too worried about the top blade hiding the place where he is cutting. It's my plan to also get a pair of lefty scissors for him to experiment with. For now though, he's in love with 'his' pair of scissors that he doesn't have to share, and I'm happy with the fact that he's able to switch hands quickly and easily while he figures out his 'handedness'.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items