Return to A Kid's Guide to Drawing the Presidents of the USA
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by Sam's Noggin January 6, 2012
Reviewer: Sam from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
A Kid's Guide to Drawing the Presidents of the United States of America, How to Draw the Life and Times of John F. Kennedy.

When my book came I was very impressed. This title is hardback, and full of biography information about our late President. I was very excited for our oldest son to jump in. He likes to draw, and he loves History.

I was a bit disappointed in the drawing. Most of them are very hard, and it overwhelmed both of us. Perhaps it is just us, as we are not really drawn to art or as good at it as others, but I feel like the art could have had some more instruction.

The book itself however, is fabulous! Each page covers a chapter of President Kennedy’s life, from birth, to tragic death.  The drawings chosen are related to real photos from that part of the President’s life, and is featured on the page beside instruction. There is also a glossary, website for updated information, and timeline to finish out the book.

Read the rest of this review at http://www.samsnoggin.com/2011/05/kid-guide-to-drawing-presidents-of-usa.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
How to Draw the Life and Times of Andrew Jackson January 3, 2012
Reviewer: Amy from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
When this book in the series A Kid’s Guide to Drawing the Presidents of the U.S.A. arrived on my porch yesterday afternoon I could barely contain my excitement. We had a busy evening planned, but as soon as I could I presented my four oldest children with an assignment — what do you think of this book? Everyone get out pencils and paper and try something and then tell me what you think.

My oldest was immediately skeptical as twelve year olds often are… she immediately asked if they only had to draw one picture, and started on the easiest one she can find. After she had been drawing for a while, she decided to start a new page to make her flag smaller and make it part of a fort scene. She stayed at the table long past the assigned time, so I am pretty sure I will find her coming back to this book on her own.

My ten year old son started drawing the boat, and he was hooked from the start. “I don’t care if we only “have to” draw one picture Clara, I want to draw the whole book.” That was his response to the book and he enjoyed himself and did a fine job.

Both my seven year old daughter and my five year old son were very excited to get their piece of the pie, and did a passable job of drawing the log cabin and the flag. Neither child was the correct age for this particular series, but they still enjoyed themselves immensely and learned something along the way.

After the drawing frenzy was over, I had my ten year old read a section to the younger children about what they were drawing. He was captivated by the information, and will learn a great deal from this presentation of material.

Each book in the series capsulizes the life and times of a president through brief essays, pictures and through drawing instruction of significant objects or people. Both the drawing and the reading is intermediate in difficulty and is most appropriate for ages 9 to 12. So many children learn better through hands on activity related to the reading material and this book provides — in my opinion — the perfect blend of information and activity.

My Bottom Line: I would like to purchase the set myself, and if you have children who love to draw or love drawing instruction books, you will want some on your shelf.

Read the rest of this review at http://www.bowofbronze.com/amysblog/2011/05/book-review-how-to-draw-the-life-and-times-of-andrew-jackson-from-timberdoodle-co/

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by Simply at Home January 3, 2012
Reviewer: Wendi from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
I received How to Draw the Life and Times of Harry S. Truman to use with my kiddos.

How to Draw to Life and Times of Harry S. Truman contains thirteen 2-page chapters and features a  number of visual extras that enhance your learning about Truman, including a number of photographs {some full-color}, a copy of a famous portrait of Truman, and step-by-step drawing instructions for key places, events, and more that relate to the life and times of Truman.

In the first chapter we are given a brief biographical sketch of Harry S. Truman’s life.  In the subsequent chapters we are given a more in-depth look at some of the details surrounding Truman’s life and times.

Every book in this series also contains a timeline, a glossary of words, an index of subjects in the book and suggested websites that you can visit to obtain more information.

My Thoughts:
My kiddos love to draw and they especially appreciate drawing books that contain step-by-step instructions for drawing specific items or scenes.  The drawing instructions in How to Draw the Life and Times of Harry S. Truman were simple enough that even my dd7 was able to create a fairly accurate drawing of her chosen subject.

I think any book in this series would be an excellent addition to any bookshelf both as a history resource and and as an art resource.

Read the rest of this review at http://wendi-simplyathome.blogspot.com/2011/05/kids-guide-to-drawing-presidents-of-usa.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by Vintage Indie January 3, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
We were sent the Lyndon B. Johnson book from the collection.  It didn't take us long to read through the 32 page book. Along the way we leaned many facts about President Lyndon B. Johnson.

Included in the book are of course, drawing lessons. The first is President Lyndon's birthplace, where the student learns how to draw a home with a front porch. Of course my children moved past the parts of learning how to draw a home and moved to the more exciting things that interested them like the Great Seal,  the silver star medal awarded to Johnson for his bravery during a mission, the patch from the USS Maddox and the Apollo 8 spacecraft.

I think these books are a good launching point or accompaniment to your presidential history lessons. Providing something a little different than straight facts. My youngest a first grader, thoroughly enjoyed following the block style directions to create his drawings.

Read the rest of this review at http://vintageindie.typepad.com/vintage_indie/2011/05/teach-me-product-review-a-kids-guide-to-drawing-the-presidents-of-the-united-states-of-america.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by The Happy Homeschool Mom December 30, 2011
Reviewer: Lisa from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
One of the subjects my older boys (7 and 9) have enjoyed the most is American History. Especially fascinating to them was when we studied each of the American Presidents. That's why I was so excited when I found out we would be receiving a volume of A Kid's Guide to Drawing the Presidents of the USA from Timberdoodle. We received How to Draw the Life and Times of Franklin Delano Roosevelt.

The book is a 32 page library bound book. The book is full of biographical information on FDR including: his birth, death, family, political career, terms of presidency, inportant contributions as president and his legacy. Along with all of this important information, the book contains 10 pages of step by step drawing instructions for things that are related to FDR's presidency. Some of the things you will draw are: Franklin Roosevelt, USS Arizona, Eleanor Roosevelt, the United Nations Flag, a radio microphone, a New Deal cartoon, the Executive Mansion, a wheelchair, the New York Capital, and Springwood. The book also contains a glossary, timeline, and an index.

I think this book is wonderful and can be enjoyed by a wide range of ages. It is filled with factual information and pictures about the presidents (ours being FDR of course.) The information is presented in easily digestible chunks of information. Having the drawing exercises along with it is a great way to reinforce what is being learned. Your child could create a notebook filled with their own drawings of each president's life. There are written drawing instructions as well as a drawn example. The drawing instructions are numbered so you know which order to go in. New instructions are in red in the drawn example making it easy to keep your place.

At times, I felt that the written drawing instructions were a bit vague and could have been more detailed. You can follow along with their drawn example pretty easily, but I could have used a few more written instructions to read aloud to the children as they were drawing.

Read the rest of this review at http://thehappyhomeschoolmom.blogspot.com/2011/05/timberdoodle-review-kids-guide-to.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by The Fantastic Five December 30, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
Do you have a little artist in your family?  Are you looking for a way to engage this kiddoin history, using his/her talent and passion for art?  Then check out...A Kid's Guide to Drawing the Presidents of the USA series.

We received How to Draw the Life and Times of Andrew Johnson to review, which is wonderful, since he is a President from our native Tennessee.

Each section contains well-written, historical information...and a well-illustrated drawing lesson on something that related to the history lesson.

These books can be adapted for several ages, though the drawings really seem suited for 3rd graders and up.  HOWEVER...my Preschooler...and my 1st grader both wanted to get in on the fun, just like their older sister did, making these books a great resource for family learning.

Read the rest of this review at http://thefantasticfive-hockmana.blogspot.com/2011/05/timberdoodle-review-kids-guide-to.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by Reflections in the Window December 29, 2011
Reviewer: Jen from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
Not only is this book a history book it is also an art book.  Since we have one in the family who loves to draw this was a perfect fit.

This book is a beautiful hard covered book.  The pictures are easy to follow.  We love the step by step approach to drawing.

The pictures are so easy to follow I think anyone could learn to draw from these books.  Even me, with the stick figures and all.  LOL!

Read the rest of this review at http://reflectionsinthewindow.blogspot.com/2011/06/timberdoodle-product-reviewdrawing.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by Petra School December 28, 2011
Reviewer: Angie from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
We were reading along in the  A Kid’s Guide to Drawing the Presidents – George Washington on the 15th of June and came across The Birth of a New Nation and the American Flag. The boys were interested to discover that the original description was something like -  “Red and white stripes with 13  stars on a blue field” – so all of the flags did not resemble each other in the 1777. We talked about the 14th being Flag Day and why that would be important to honor and remember our flag.

We also learned about The Star Spangled Banner song, how it started on a scrap of paper through emotional little quips of a poem.  We are gaining ground to July 4th, and have a huge celebration planned.  I was surprised that both boys did not tie the battle with the British to the 4th of July. We’ve studied this before, but it had not sunk in.  Nate was most excited about “The Rockets Red Glare, the Bombs Bursting In Air – Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.” We talked in depth about capture the flag and what it means to get to another man’s territory and replace their flag with your own. They both had pretty visual ideas from Night Capture the Flag romps and from the scenes of Pirates of the Caribbean when Jack raises the flag on the British ship each time he “borrows” it for a bit.

My heart is full – as this is one of the first (of many to come) conversations where I didn’t feel like the “teacher” but more of the sharer.

Read the rest of this review at http://pebblekeeper.wordpress.com/2011/06/16/flag-day/

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by Our Side of the Mountain December 28, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
My oldest son (12) is TOTALLY into American history, but he's not that interested in drawing, and my daughter (9) LOVES to draw in her free time, but she's not into history. So, when Timberdoodle sent me How to Draw the Life and Times of  Grover Cleveland to review, I thought it would encourage BOTH of them to learn something they don't usually enjoy! And even my "history buff" didn't know a lot about President Cleveland!

The timeline and glossary are VERY handy!

We found the information in the book was easy to read, understand and interesting. (Did you know that the Baby Ruth candy bar is named after Cleveland's daughter?) The glossary and timeline provided a great source for review through discussion and verbal games. The drawing lessons were challenging and a little frustrating for J and C who haven't had any instruction in shading and perspective. Each book takes about a week to finish, perhaps two, and would be awesome combined with other American History programs or additional historical books and videos of the time to "round out" the events and people.  If you have a reluctant history student, but who has had basic drawing instruction and enjoys being creative, this is the series for you!

Read the rest of this review at http://oursideofthemtn.blogspot.com/2011/05/timberdoodle-review-kids-guide-to.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Review by Our Busy Homeschool December 27, 2011
Reviewer: Tristan from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
Combining history  and art curriculum in one, the series of 42 volumes will take your family through the life, times, and key events from George Washington to George W. Bush’s presidencies.

We received: How to Draw the Life and Times of Abraham Lincoln.  It was rather convenient to receive this volume as my children had studied the Civil War in the fall and were already familiar with good old Abe.  We snuggled up on the couch and read about Lincoln.  The book covers his life from childhood through death by first beginning with two sections that give you an overview of life before and during his presidency.  There is a timeline, glossary, and website list in the back of the book for more information.

The information pages themselves are well-written and worked in a read aloud situation easily.  My children loved seeing photos, especially of the items they were going to draw.  The art portion of the book works well with the combination of instructions and new lines shown in red.  Our only complaint -  In trying to keep the books at a certain number of pages the publisher kept each art project to one page.  This makes the illustrated instructions rather small, with too many lines added at once for the more detailed drawings.  It would have been better to give the more detailed drawings two pages of space with more steps to break down the drawing even more.  If you’re looking for a fun addition to your American history studies then check out this and other history curriculum available through Timberdoodle.

Read the rest of this review at http://ourbusyhomeschool.blogspot.com/2011/05/kids-guide-to-drawing-presidents-of.html

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items