Return to WonderMaps CD
Sort By::
Page of 6
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by The Work of Childhood January 10, 2012
Reviewer: Gabby from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
There are SO many fantastic options with WonderMaps.

Since we have started learning about Benjamin Franklin this month, the FIRST map I went after was a map of the original 13 colonies. I found it quickly under Thematic Maps!

I love that it gives me the option of different choices to display on the map!

Even though we have only actually used a handful of the maps so far, I can tell that WonderMaps is going to be an INVALUABLE resource for our homeschooling!! I know many maps you can probably find with a quick Google, but Bright Ideas Press really knew what they were doing when they created this program to have ALL of these fabulous maps in one place AND to have them be COMPLETELY customizable to your needs…it can’t get any better than that! Just think of all the time saved hunting online for maps that suit your needs when with WonderMaps, you can do it in a matter of one or two clicks!

Read the rest of this review at http://www.workofchildhood.com/2011/09/wondermaps-review.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by Spell Outloud January 9, 2012
Reviewer: Maureen from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
Many times while reading a book I’ve wished I had access to maps to illustrate exactly where things were occurring in the story. Other times I needed a map to help my children learn where certain cities, states, rivers etc. were located but did not have one that could be printed and labeled. Bright Ideas Press came out with a perfect solution to both of my problems---WonderMaps!

This made me happy. Knowing that I could easily print multiple copies of  a map with just a click of a button.

Everything is neatly organized and laid-out. I found it easy to navigate and find what I needed.

Being able to have so many maps at my fingertips will mean that I can save time searching for them on the internet. This is one resources that crosses into multiple subject-areas and I now consider WonderMaps one of my homeschool curriculum staples.

Read the rest of this review at http://www.spelloutloud.com/2011/09/wondermaps.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by Sam's Noggin January 9, 2012
Reviewer: Sam from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
Any good homeschooler incorporates map work into their classroom setting. This homeschooler tries really hard to keep up with those kinds of things, but I have one problem. I stink at it.

In our various curricula there have been maps involved in our day to day study, and I usually have to wait for my husband. Not with WonderMaps!

You can choose if your maps are color or black- and-white, if you want to include outline, reference, political, or topographical information, and different map features, such as borders, rivers, and cities.

WonderMaps is really wonderful, it really is, and will work with any curriculum, or for non-homeschoolers. It would also be perfect for a History buff, or your personal Bible study.

I no longer have an excuse for not being prepared for map time during our day. This map-impaired mom has found what she wished she had all along this homeschool journey, map help!

Read the rest of this review at http://www.samsnoggin.com/2011/09/wondermaps-review.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by Sam's Noggin January 9, 2012
Reviewer: Sam from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
Any good homeschooler incorporates map work into their classroom setting. This homeschooler tries really hard to keep up with those kinds of things, but I have one problem. I stink at it.

In our various curricula there have been maps involved in our day to day study, and I usually have to wait for my husband. Not with WonderMaps!

You can choose if your maps are color or black- and-white, if you want to include outline, reference, political, or topographical information, and different map features, such as borders, rivers, and cities.

WonderMaps is really wonderful, it really is, and will work with any curriculum, or for non-homeschoolers. It would also be perfect for a History buff, or your personal Bible study.

I no longer have an excuse for not being prepared for map time during our day. This map-impaired mom has found what she wished she had all along this homeschool journey, map help!

Read the rest of this review at http://www.samsnoggin.com/2011/09/wondermaps-review.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by Our Good Life January 6, 2012
Reviewer: Aurie from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
This one software program offers maps in four categories: the world {continents, regions, nations}, United States of Amerca, Historical Maps, and Thematic Maps.  The maps are detailed, concise, and easy to read.  Each map has layers {cities, nations, rivers, land areas, etc} that can be added or removed.  The maps can be viewed in back and white or color.

My favorite {so far} are the thematic maps.  Some of the themes included are Biblical Maps, Native Americans, Explorers, and World Wars.  I've used the Biblical maps in my bible study, as well as the Bible in 90 Days Challenge.

My husband is a history professor and a map lover, so I asked him to take a look at the software as well.  His take?  It is easy to navigate, easy to read and we both love that we can print the maps!

Homeschool materials can be expensive, and having an extensive mapping program will be a wonderful tool that we can access again and again.

I highly recommend Wondermaps from Bright Ideas Press.

Read the rest of this review at http://www.ourgoodfamily.org/2011/09/wondermaps-review.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by Luv 'N Lambert Life January 5, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
WonderMaps is one of the BEST accessories any homeschooling family can have.  

WonderMaps is just that: wonderful maps included on a convenient disk for use with any history program available.  With WonderMaps, the user can pick the features they want displayed and then print off the needed maps to use as necessary.  Maps of Ancient lands to today's modern landscape are available for the user to print.  Outline, political, topographical, and even reference maps are included in either black and white or color, including names of specific elements as the user sees fit to create.

I am personally using this wonderful resource with Tapestry of Grace and Mystery of History for our Ancient History lessons this year.  These maps have been a wonderful introduction for us.  They were extremely simple to create and print out.  I love that I can add as many features as I feel necessary and remove as much as I need to too!  Starting out with history, I try to keep maps simple so as not to overwhelm my children and reprint more detailed maps as we expand on that topic.  With WonderMaps I can easily print out just what I need.

Read the rest of this review at http://www.luvnlambertlife.com/2011/10/timberdoodle-review-wondermaps.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by Kathy's Cluttered Mind January 5, 2012
Reviewer: Kathy from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
Wondermaps is an easy to use program which is installed on your PC and uses Adobe PDF 9.1 or higher (which is a FREE download). There are over 350 maps. The program includes maps of The World, Continents, Nations, Regions and United States of America maps. As well as some very cool Historical and Thematic maps. The Historic maps start with The Ancients: Creation-33AD and continue all the way to Present Day. The Thematic maps include Biblical, Explorer, American History, Native American, World War, 20th Century Treaty and Chinese Dynasty maps. The program is very reasonably priced at $44.95.

Also included in the program is a Teachers Guide which includes a tutorial video, bonus workshops and several other valuable resources.

All of the maps have a layer feature which allows you to change the way the maps look. You can have as much detail as you want or eliminate all details to leave just a basic outline. You can even see how borders have changed over time by using the layer feature. Maps can also be printed in color or black and white.
 
My kids are only 4 and 5 so they are not really at age where we were able to delve into ALL the wonderful maps this program offers. So for now we have just been using the United States of America and Continent  maps. Because they are so young I liked that I was able to make create very basic maps that just had borders and names. I also like that I can print the maps in black in white so that the kids can color them on their own.

Read the rest of this review at http://www.kathysclutteredmind.com/2011/09/wondermaps-review.html?spref=tw

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by Just our Thoughts January 5, 2012
Reviewer: L M Harris from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
I LOVE how easy WonderMaps is to navigate.  In no time at all I was discovering all sorts of new maps and new ways to change the maps.  As a homeschool parent, I look forward to using these maps to supplement our learning in the near future.  My children have not yet discovered geography to the extent that I would like, but I am sure it is not long in coming.

Read the rest of this review at http://www.justourthoughts.com/2011/11/wondermapsa-review.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
WonderMaps Review by Homestead Originals January 4, 2012
Reviewer: Lisa from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
As a very busy Homeschoolin’ Momma, I want educational resources and tools that not only give my children the best, but make my job easier too! WonderMaps from Bright Ideas Press is a Homeschool Momma’s ‘match made in heaven’!  What a wonderful tool WonderMaps is!

WonderMaps is divided up into 4 areas; Maps of the World, Maps of the US, Historical Maps and Thematic Maps (including Biblical Maps)! So not only can you go into a specific category, you can then pinpoint what type of map you want even further with WonderMap’s ‘layering’; say you want a black and white outlined map of a country, easily done–however maybe you want to see the cities, borders, or add color to it? It’s ALL there, you just check off the boxes of the features you want on your map and VOILA- a couple clicks and you have a customized map for your lessons!! It is SO easy to use and implement, it really gives History a new light when you can ’see through a map’, the geography that the lesson pertains to.

WonderMaps offers over 350 maps you can customize, 60+ maps of the world, 60+ maps of the USA, over 125 historical maps including 25 biblical maps! You can use historical or modern day maps, black & white or color maps, outline, reference, political or topographical maps– the list is endless! Great thing is you can use this with ALL your children; whether in Kindergarten or High School!

I am absolutely loving WonderMaps, it is so easy for me to use and the children LOVE all the maps and visuals they get with their lessons! This is one tool you will want in your ‘Homeschool Momma’s Toolbox’ without a doubt!

Read the rest of this review at http://www.homesteadoriginals.com/blog/2011/11/09/wondermaps-product-review/

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Wonder of Wondermaps January 4, 2012
Reviewer: Lori from Timberdoodle's Blogger Review Team  
Wondermaps is a one stop software for all your mapping needs, for all ages. That's not hyperbole, I really believe that's the case. The main menu contains four categories; The World (Continents, Regions, Nations), United States of America, Historical Maps, and Thematic Maps.  You click on The World and it brings you to a list of continents. Click the continent you desire and then Pages and you have a selection of maps. Click the map you like and you'll see blue and black links. Blue links will bring you to another map, black will give you a detailed map with choices.

Check what you want, uncheck what you don't, and print. Totally customizable and totally easy. I love it.

The other thing I think is super cool?  The Historical and Thematic Maps. Click on Thematic Maps and you'll see a world map with various icons scattered around. These include American History, Explorers, Native Americans, World Wars, Biblical Maps, 20th Century Treaties, and Chinese Dynasties. Unit study moms should love these!  Click on Historical Maps and you may choose from The Ancients, The Middle Ages, The Renaissance Reformation and Growth of Nations, or Revolutions to Rising Times. We're studying the Middle Ages right now so these are the maps we chose.

If you're anything like me and you don't always (or ever!) prepare and print everything in advance, this is simple enough to open, choose, and print in the midst of your homeschooling day. I love it.  (Did I mention that I love it?)

There's also a Teacher's Guide where you can find a Quick Start Guide, Tutorial Video, and User Manual. Plus you get two bonus workshop mp3's (Loving Geography and Packing a Punch with Timelines and Maps) as well as six bonus resources (50 Bright Ideas for Using Outline Maps, The 5 Themes of Geography, How to Make a Salt Dough Map, History & Geography, 16 Easy Mapping Projects, and a sample unit entitled, Joseph's Journey). Oh, and if you happen to be using Mystery of History or All American History, you get the added bonus of having a list of maps used in each book.  Yep, pretty cool.

Read the rest of this review at http://www.homeschoolreviewsandmore.com/2011/10/wonder-of-wondermaps.html

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items